Eastern Regional BOE holds last meeting of 2023 school year

Cloutier proud of students, staff and administration 

Voorhees Art Commission updated the “Graduation Wall” at Voorhees Town Center this afternoon for the Voorhees Township Public Schools of 2023, which includes Kindergarten from Osage, Kresson, Signal Hill, and ET Hamilton, the 8th grade class at Voorhees Middle School, and Seniors at Eastern Regional High School.

The 2022-23’ school year for Camden County Eastern Regional High School has come to an end, with the class of 2023 graduating today, June 21. The Eastern Board of Education (BOE) held their last meeting on June 13, which was their last meeting until Aug. 22.

Superintendent Robert Cloutier said he is “proud of the students and staff for this school year,” when reflecting on the previous school year. Noting that “this year flew by fast, as always and this is my 17th year in the district.” 

- Advertisement -

Cloutier also complimented Board president Jude Brown, who was named president in January, taking over for Bob DeCicco. DeCicco served on the Eastern Regional board for 45 years, announcing his retirement in December 2022. 

“Mr. (Jude) Brown has been doing a great job of leading the board in his first school year as the board president,” Cloutier said. “Obviously taking over for Mr. DeCicco, who we honored last month by naming the performing arts center after him, he (Brown) was a great communicator in Mr. DeCicco’s absence.”

At the June meeting, the board adopted a resolution recognizing the selection of Violet Riquelme as Scholar of the Month for June  Riquelme was recognized for her academic achievements, commitment to athletics, and extracurricular programs, and good school citizenship.

This was also the last board meeting for student representative Zanna Ahmad, who was selected by Principal Robert Tull to serve as the student school board member for the 2023 year.

Cloutier said while students will not be present at school, there will be plenty of activity taking place throughout the summer.

“(Construction crews) are continuing to renovate things throughout and we anticipate that this will be a very busy summer with construction inside the school building,” he said. “They will be working on the solar panels project which will hopefully show some good progress.”

Additionally a slew of new hires will be confirmed at the start of the next school year.

  • Maria Pinto – business education teacher.
  • Curtis Foy, Gabriella Acevedo and Louis Misselhorn – special education teachers.
  • Carrington Thompson – music teacher.
  • Lance Henshaw – chemistry teacher. 
  • Dr. Michael Ostroff, vice principal and supervisor of Science, Technology, Family & Consumer Science and Business.
  • Dana Carson – math teacher.

Lastly, some resignations were confirmed by the board; teachers Rhea Fernandes and Seth Ratajski and Custodian Damien Bumbera. All resignations are effective June 30.

- Advertisment -