Shamong Township election roundup

Tuesday, Nov. 5 is Election Day in New Jersey, with polls open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Residents of Shamong can vote in races for Shamong Township Board of Education, Shamong Township Committee, Burlington County Sheriff and Burlington County Board of Chosen Freeholders.

In the race for Shamong BOE, two candidates are vying for two seats: Jeffrey S. Warner (Children First) and Jeffrey Siedlecki.

In the race for two seats on Shamong Township Committee, the following candidates are running: Eileen R. Carlos (D), Lauren A. Smith (D), Michael S. DiCroce (R) and Timothy L. Gimbel (R).

In the race for Burlington County Sheriff, four candidates are running for one seat: Anthony Basantis (D), Michael Ditzel (R), Erik Johnston and Robert Shapiro (Protecting Burlington’s Kids).

In the race for Burlington County Board of Chosen Freeholders, two candidates are running for one seat: Linda Hynes (D) and Latham Tiver (R).

In the race for a two-year unexpired term for the Burlington County Board of Chosen Freeholders, candidates Daniel O’Connell (D) and Lee Schneider (R) are in the running for the seat.

In the race for General Assembly in the eighth Legislative District, five candidates are running for two seats: Gina LaPlaca (D), Mark Natale (D), Jean Stanfield (R), Ryan Peters (R) and Tom Giangiulio Jr. (I).

For the state question on this year’s ballot, voters will choose either “yes” or “no” on a constitutional amendment to give certain veterans’ benefits to residents of continuing care retirement communities. The proposed amendment would allow eligible veterans who live in such retirement communities to receive the same $250 tax deduction as veterans who live in private residences.

Below are the polling locations for Shamong Township:

  • Districts 1 and 3 vote at the municipal building (105 Willow Grove Road).
  • Districts 2 and 4 vote at the LRHSD administration building (93 Willow Grove Road).