County hall of fame to induct standout players and coaches

Among them are a basketball player, softball pitcher and a girls' volleyball coach

Courtesy of Gloucester County Sports Hall of Fame
Former Washington Township High basketball player Jennifer Scaffidi Grassel (left) and former Williamstown High softball pitcher Katie Trotter Herrero are among names to be added to the hall.

Twelve standout players and coaches are set to be inducted into the Gloucester County Sports Hall of Fame next month.

Among them are former Washington Township High (WTHS) basketball player Jennifer Scaffidi Grassel, former Williamstown High softball pitcher Katie Trotter Herrero, and longtime Williamstown girls’ volleyball coach Chris Sheppard, who is known to breakdance to celebrate his team’s wins.

- Advertisement -

That is what he did when his volleyball team captured its fifth state title in 2001.

Grassel, Herrero and Sheppard will be honored during the 41st induction banquet at Auletto Caterers in Deptford on Tuesday, Oct. 24.

As a player at WTHS, Grassel was a two-year captain and 1,000-point scorer who earned All-South Jersey First Team and All-State Honorable Mention honors. She graduated in 2001 and was inducted into the school’s sports hall of fame in 2008, according to the district.

Grassel was also inducted into the Shippensburg University athletic hall of fame in 2015. She was a four-year starter, four-time Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference (PSAC) scholar-athlete, and two-year captain. She is currently ranked 10th on the school’s career scoring list, with 1,583 points and 13.9 points per game. 

Grassel spent a decade as a mathematics teacher and assistant girls basketball coach at WTHS before moving to Pennsylvania, where she now serves as assistant executive director of the Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association.

Herrero won two state titles at Williamstown High in 2010 and 2011, and led Gloucester County College’s Road Runners to a national title. She was the top player in Region 19, a first-team All-American and the MVP of the 2011 NCAA Division III National Tournament, according to reports. She was honored by the Collegiate Athletic Administrators of New Jersey as the 2011 Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Joining Grassel, Herrero and Sheppard as this year’s county hall of fame inductees are Robert Mannino (Glassboro), Deborah Slenkamp (Pitman), Kim Smith-Bey (Glassboro), Ted Malinoski (Pitman), Derek Ward (Kingsway), Tim Cammarota (West Deptford), Greg Sawyer (Delsea) and Robert Moore (Gateway).

Tickets for the induction event are available by contacting Gus Ostrum at or by calling (609) 502-0424.

- Advertisment -