County names selections for Outstanding Women Awards

Eleven women will be recognized for their leadership and service to the community on Tuesday, Oct. 3, at the Riverton Country Club

Special to The Sun: Burlington County Commissioner Director Felicia Hopson (left) and Commissioner Allison Eckel presented Vicki Conaway, of the Tabernacle Baptist Church Mission Ministry, with the 2022 Outstanding Women Award for Volunteerism last year.

Eleven Burlington County women will be recognized for their leadership and service to the community during this year’s 2023 Outstanding Women of Burlington County Awards reception.

They will be honored on Tuesday, Oct. 3, during a reception at the Riverton Country Club. The event will provide opportunities for friends, family and community members to learn more about the often unknown or unpublicized accomplishments of women leaders.

- Advertisement -

This year’s honorees are:

  • Business leadership: Sandra Sciacca, president of Sciacca’s Upholstering & Design Center in Delran and a leader with the Delran Business Association, Riverside Business Association and Burlington County Regional Chamber of Commerce.
  • Community service: Libby Majewski, Marlton resident and executive director of Prevention Plus of Burlington County, a nonprofit dedicated to preventing youth tobacco, alcohol and drug use.
  • Diversity and inclusion: Ashanti Holley, assistant superintendent and chief diversity officer for the Burlington County Institute of Technology and Burlington County Special Services school districts.
  • Education: Sherry Knight, director of Curriculum, Instruction and Equity for the Burlington City School District.
  • First responder/law enforcement: Anna Czajka, detective corporal with the Burlington City Police Department.
  • Government: Jennifer Aydjian, Moorestown resident and chief of staff for state Sen. Troy Singleton’s district office.
  • Health care: Linda Flake, Marlton resident and president and CEO of Southern Jersey Family Medical Centers.
  • Law: Judy Schiavone, Mount Laurel Police Department chief.
  • Military/veterans: Iraina Witherspoon, U.S. Army combat veteran and sexual assault response coordinator at Joint Base McGuire-Dix-Lakehurst.
  • STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math): Nicole Gillespie, mayor of Moorestown, CEO of the Center for Aquatic Sciences, and former president and CEO of the Knowles Teacher Initiative, a nonprofit focused on improving STEM education.
  • Volunteerism: Gina Capate, Maple Shade resident and coordinator for the Toys for Tots Burlington County Chapter.

Tickets for the awards reception are $80 and are now available. They can be purchased online at

- Advertisment -