Genealogy discussion planned at Old Pine Farm for April 24

Speaker Brian Yates will delve into the former owners and residents

Genealogy, the 1950 Census, and history of the oldest house in Deptford is the subject of the monthly program at Old Pine Farm Natural Lands Trust on Sunday, April 24, at 2 p.m. The program will be held at the Willoughby House which has a history going back to 1703.

Speaker Brian Yates will delve into the former owners and residents, one of whom was a freeholder in 1900, to the last owners, George and Lillian Willoughby. The house is now part of the land trust which was founded by George and Lillian.

- Advertisement -

The release of the 1950 Census opens up a new avenue for searching for anyone born during the 1940s. Yates picked up on genealogy in 2011 and has been searching the history of family and friends. He also participates in a find-a-grave program for those who have passed away in Gloucester County.

Yates is a trustee and treasurer of Old Pine Farm, a director and volunteer at the South Jersey Museum of American History in Deptford, and a director of the West Jersey chapter of the National Railway Historical Society.

The Willoughby House is located at 340 Pine Ave. which can be found at the end of Pine Ave. off Good Intent Road in Blackwood Terrace. There is an additional small parking lot available at the end of Rankin Ave., one block from Pine Ave.

Please visit oldpinefarm.org or the Old Pine Farm Facebook page for changes and directions. Information, questions, and registration: Text Joan, 856-340-3208. Carpooling recommended. Free and open to all.

RELATED ARTICLES
- Advertisment -
SideRail

Latest