Deptford board of education awards Teachers of the Year

Educational Service Professional also honored at meeting

The Deptford Township board of education met on Dec. 14 with all but one member in attendance.

Superintendent Arthur Dietz recommended the board approve multiple staff resignations that would be effective by the end of the calendar year, as well as two retirements : Good Intent School Principal Kimberly Matthews and Deptford High School secretary Rina DiCredico.

- Advertisement -

Various leave-of-absence requests and transfer plans were approved, including the rotation of school nurses from Oak Valley Elementary, Shady Lane Elementary and Deptford Middle School. Other staff members had promotions approved and received acceptance for professional development workshops.

Through the current school year, seven student teachers got assignments. They are all full-time students at Rowan University, Widener University, Fairleigh Dickinson University and Rosemont College.

The addition of two transition coordinators at Deptford Middle School was discussed. The expected pay rate for the position would be $25 an hour without
exceeding a total of $3,000.

After transfers in the 2021-2022 budget were made for October and November, the district approved the acceptance of a Donors Choose Grant Texts – for short-story books – to Melinda Howell. The texts will be used in the classroom to represent different genres and cultures and allow students to see themselves when they listen to the stories.

Toward the end of the meeting, Teacher and Educational Service Professional of the Year awards for the Deptford district in the 2021-2022 academic year were formally announced. They are:

Deptford High School: Teacher Scott Nagele and ESP Dean Forbes
Deptford Middle School: Teacher Tammy Bitting and ESP Jesse Aquino
Central Early Childhood Center: Teacher Heather Purvis and ESP Mary Kupsey
Good Intent Elementary School: Teacher Joseph Trombetta and ESP Natalie Roy
Lake Tract Elementary School: Teacher Lynn Ricchiuti and ESP Mark Petito
Oak Valley Elementary School: Teacher Kristin Pesce and ESP Laura Fortson-Williams
Pine Acres Early Childhood Center: Teacher Michelle MacLacklin and ESP LoriAnn Reeves
Shady Lane Elementary School: Teacher Christine Donzuso and ESP Jessica Johnson

The next board of education meeting for Deptford Township is scheduled for Wednesday, Jan. 5.

- Advertisment -