Gattinelli is sworn in for four more years as mayor

Council welcomes two members, appoints president and VP

Washington Township council held its reorganization meeting on Jan 4 at the high school instead of the municipal building, to allow more attendees.

- Advertisement -

The session began with the swearing-in of Mayor Joann Gattinelli for another four-year term as  mayor..

“I am looking forward to working with my team again and continuing everything that we have done so far,” Gattinelli said in an interview. “We are looking forward to a brand new year and hopefully, this will be a much better year than 2020.

“I can’t wait to surround ourselves with friends and family again and move into the new year taking a new perspective –just trying to establish everything we set out to do.” 

Council also welcomed two new members, Anthony DellaPia and Richard Bennett. Both were escorted by their family members to be sworn in. After the ceremonies, council voted for a new president and vice president. The voting was unanimous for Sean Longfellow as president and Andrea Dougherty as vice president.

“I am very happy to be chosen to be council president this year,” Longfellow said during a phone call after the meeting. “I am looking forward to working with the administration and the new council members … and continuing our agenda.”

Longfellow discussed some of the plans and projects he looks forward to in the new year,  including finalizing budgets and determining which capital projects will be put into motion. He is also looking at opportunities for open-space offerings.

“We are also working on opening a new area of the park,” Longfellow announced. “It will be an extension of Washington Lake Park, with new trails and new docks and a lot of new opportunities to expand the county bike trail.”

Previous council President Joseph Perry and councilwoman Dana Pasqualone were unable to attend the meeting, but will be at the next council session on Wednesday, Jan. 27, to receive plaques for their service. Department heads also were appointed at the meeting, some new and some recurring. 

  • Chief Patrick Gurcsik was appointed director of the Division of Law Enforcement for the township police department. 
  • Jason Gonter was appointed business administrator and director of the Department of Finance and Administration.
  • Nancy Mazzachio was reappointed to the position of economic development consultant. 
  • Harry Adams was appointed to the Washington Township Municipal Utilities Authority. 


- Advertisment -