Home Cherry Hill News Fleisher, Bauerle elected to president, vice president roles for 2021

Fleisher, Bauerle elected to president, vice president roles for 2021

Angulo promises more help for those affected by COVID-19.

At its first gathering of the new year on Jan. 11, David Fleisher and Brian Bauerle were returned to their previous posts as president and vice president, respectively, of Cherry Hill Township Council.

Fleisher, the only councilperson nominated for the post, was confirmed by a 6-0 vote. Bauerle, the only councilperson nominated for his seat, was confirmed by a vote of 5-0, including his own abstention. 

Both men were sworn in by Congressman Donald Norcross, who lauded their service and praised their roles in local governance. 

“These are serious times,” Fleisher noted. “And our focus will remain on the health and safety of our residents. There is light at the end of the tunnel, but vaccinations need to accelerate so we can shift more attention to our recovery. 

“There is much work to be done.”

William A. Carter III began his first full term as a member of council. He was initially appointed to council in the summer, following the sudden resignation of Carolyn Jacobs. He squared off against Republican challenger Nancy Feller O’Dowd in the general election on Nov. 3, and won by claiming nearly 27,000 votes. 

County Commissioner Jeffrey Nash congratulated Carter, calling him a man dedicated to his community even before his selection to council last year. 

Mayor Susan Shin Angulo used her customary remarks to first address the insurrection at the United States Capitol on Jan. 6, expressing thanks that neither Norcross nor his staff were harmed during the siege. She added that those events ran counter to the Democratic process, saying, “Those responsible must be held accountable to the fullest extent of the law.” 

Speaking about the revived Human Relations Advisory Committee, Angulo related how municipal governance wants to organize events that foster  community, mutual respect and understanding among all residents. 

“For the coming year,” she said, “we’d like to broaden the committee’s activities to include: outreach to, and participation by, our many communities; engage with  administrators to promote tolerance and inclusiveness in our schools; and continue our dialogue with key stakeholders to promote social justice.”

Angulo also promised greater help for COVID-ravaged small businesses and nonprofits, beyond the Small Business Administration loans initially offered as a panacea.

“In the new year, I will continue my dialogue with the business community to see how we can stimulate renewal and growth. I will also coordinate with county, state and federal government entities to see what resources can help,” she offered. 

One piece of legislation given unanimous consent by the seven-member body, was a resolution to award a contract to Asphalt Paving Systems of Hammonton, for an amount not to exceed $315,874.40, for Phase 3 of the reconstruction of Cherry Hill Boulevard, 

Council additionally approved the appointments of 11 people for Class I and Class II Special Law Enforcement Officers for the township. According to Chief William “Bud” Monaghan, all appointees served as officers during the previous year, and there were no additions to the current roster.

The officers are utilized for watches at the municipal building, court proceedings and security at the Cherry Hill Public Library.

In other news

  • Via a series of individual resolutions, council approved the following for positions within municipal governance: Erin Gill as director of the Department of Administration; MIchael Raio as director of the DIvision of Tax Assessments; Carol Redmond for director of the Division of Tax Collections; Michelle Samalonis as township controller and director of the Division of the Treasury; Megan Brown as director of the Recreation Department; Cosmas Diamantis as director for the Department of Community Development; Frederick Kuhn as construction code official and director of the Department of Construction Code Enforcement and Inspections; Emeshe Arzon as township solicitor; Adelene Kahn as municipal court administrator; Robin Goins as director of the Department of Information Technology; Russell Lindmeier as director of the Division of Building Maintenance; Steven Musilli as engineering director; Raymond Cianfrani as director of the Department of Public Works; William “Bud” Monaghan as chief of Cherry Hill Police, and Patti Chacker as deputy municipal clerk.  
  • Further resolutions approved appointments for the following; Charles Shimber as Municipal Court judge; John Osorio and Samuel Kates to positions on the planning board; Councilwoman Carole Roskoph to be the Class III representative to the Planning Board for a one-year term; Bowman and Company of Voorhees was selected as township solicitor for an amount not to exceed $112,500, plus $50K for additional charges.  Acacia Financial Group of Mt. Laurel was chosen as township financial advisors for $35,000 during the calendar year 2021.
  • During the customary moment of silence before the commencement of the meeting, Fleisher urged all attending the session to remember fallen Capitol officers Brian Sicknick and Howard Liebengood, as well as “all those who are in the continuous pursuit and defense of freedom in the United States.” Cherry Hill High School East graduate Alicia Cosenza followed with her rendition of  “The Star Spangled Banner.”
Exit mobile version