Home • Burlington County News Trio of Democrats win key positions in Delran governance

Trio of Democrats win key positions in Delran governance

Catrambone selected as mayor; Burrell, Jeney elected to township council.

After a wait of nearly three weeks, key races in Delran Township were officially decided. 

Gary Catrambone, one of three Democrats on the local ticket, will be the next mayor in the municipality of almost 17,000 residents. Tyler Burrell will keep his seat on township council and Lynn Jeney also joins the governing body. 

According to the final count from Burlington County, Catrambone, who had previously served as president of council, claimed a 267-vote decision over his opponent, Republican Patricia Pomeranz. The count was 4,893 to 4,626.

There were seven unresolved write-in selections in the race.

A joint statement issued by the trio read, in part,Thank you to our fellow residents for your support and for making sure that your voices continue to be heard by electing us to represent you as mayor and councilmen! We have all been pleased to call Delran home for decades and we can’t wait to get started on this new chapter.

“As your mayor, Gary Catrambone has some exciting things planned for the future of Delran,” the statement continued. “Gary looks forward to getting to know each resident on a more personal level, building on his history of ‘showing up’ for Delran, and being the most accessible and transparent mayor in the town’s history. 

“Tyler Burrell is thrilled to be elected to his second term on town council, and grateful to residents for sending a strong message that they were pleased with his representation of them during his first four years on council. He is excited to continue cultivating his modern approach to serving residents, while expanding on the work he’s done to create more youth and community engagement.

“Lynn Jeney is eager to roll up his sleeves and serve Delran in a brand-new way, and he is appreciative that residents have once again shown their support for his proven track record of fiscal responsibility and experience in working for our community. He looks forward to working with the rest of council to represent the needs of each unique section of town and continuing to keep taxes stable.

“We are ready to work both for and with all Delran residents.” 

Burrell, an incumbent, notched the most votes of the four candidates in the race,  with the support of 5,593 residents. Fellow Democrat Lynn Jeney followed with the support of 5,172 citizens, with Republican challengers William Kelly (4,148 votes) and Joseph Joyce III (3,953 votes) finishing third and fourth, respectively. 

“Congratulations to Gary Catrambone, Tyler Burrell and Lynn Jeney for winning the recent election and we wish them all the best,” Pomeranz said in a separate statement. 

Catrambone will assume the office in place of Ken Paris, whose term expires on Dec. 31. Jeney ran for, and won, the council position left by Catrambone, who will become mayor at the start of the new year. 

A full text of the statement issued by Catrambone, Burrell and Jeney can be found at: https://delran.net/thank-you-delran-we-heard-you-2020. For a full list of Burlington County election recaps, visit: https://www.co.burlington.nj.us/598/Election-Results

Exit mobile version