HomeMantua NewsMantua Township swears in familiar faces to committee

Mantua Township swears in familiar faces to committee

Mayor Pete Scirrotto and Committeewoman Eileen Lukens were sworn in for a three-year term after being re-elected in November’s General Election

Mayor Pete Scirrotto, alongside his daughter and granddaughter, is sworn in by State Senate President Steve Sweeney during Mantua Township Committee’s reorganization meeting Jan. 6 at the township municipal building.

Mantua Township Committee started the new year with the swearing in of two familiar faces at its reorganization meeting on Jan. 6 at the township municipal building. 

Senate President Steve Sweeney participated in the meeting, where he administered the oaths of office to Mayor Pete Scirrotto and Committeewoman Eileen Lukens, who were both reelected unopposed for three-year terms in November’s general election.

- Advertisement -

“It’s an honor to give back and to be here and to help grow Mantua Township,” said Lukens, who will serve her second term as committeewoman.

“I grew up here, I had a wonderful childhood, I had the benefits of the school system. My husband and I decided to do the same for our children and they’ve had the benefit of growing up in a great hometown.” 

The committee also reappointed Scirrotto as mayor — a post he’s held since 2012 — and Robert Zimmerman as deputy mayor, both for one year. They also were sworn in by Sweeney. 

During his speech, Scirrotto thanked his fellow committee members and his family for their support. 

Sweeney also said a few words during the meeting, commending Mantua’s committee for  improvements over the last few decades. 

“This council has done a phenomenal job really moving Mantua in a direction that’s quite different than when I first started 22 years ago,” he said. “Change came to this community, but not just for change, it changed to improve the community. Every [committee member] up there should be proud of what you’ve done.” 

Also in attendance were District 5 Assemblyman William Spearman, Gloucester County Freeholder Deputy Director Frank J. DiMarco and a number of other government officials.

The next committee meeting is scheduled for Monday, Feb. 3, at 6 p.m. in the municipal building. 


Stay Connected

- Advertisment -

Current Issue