Home Medford News Shawnee seniors named Commended Students in 2020 merit scholars program

Shawnee seniors named Commended Students in 2020 merit scholars program

Press release from Shawnee High School.

Back Row: Seniors Sean Owens, Tucker Fetterolf, Yehuda Binik, Harrison Hoag, Kyle Hare, Haines Hoag. Front Row: Seniors Anna Swerdlow, Kelly Owens, Alayna Burns, Thomas Eckel, Rebecca Leavens (Christian Hochenberger/ Special to The Sun).

Matthew Campbell, principal of Shawnee High School, announced Yehuda Binik, Alayna Burns, Thomas Eckel, Tucker Fetterolf, Kyle Hare, Haines Hoag, Harrison Hoag, Rebecca Leavens, Kelly Owens, Sean Owens and Anna Swerdlow have been named Commended Students in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program.

A Letter of Commendation from the school and National Merit Scholarship Corporation, which conducts the program, will be presented by the principal to these scholastically talented seniors.

About 34,000 commended students throughout the nation are being recognized for
their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2020 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, commended students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2020 competition by taking the 2018 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

“Those being named commended students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” commented a spokesperson for NMSC. “These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”

Exit mobile version