Ptl. Pflugfelder receives leardership award at a New Jersey Police Traffic Officers Association meeting

The following comes from the Harrison Township Police Department Facebook page.

Patrolman Kurt Pflugfelder received a leadership award for Traffic Safety Specialist, Level one at the N.J. Police Traffic Officers Association state meeting in Atlantic City (Harrison Township Police Department/Special to The Sun).

Congratulations Patrolman Kurt Pflugfelder! On June 26, he received the Traffic Safety Specialist, Level – One, Leadership award at the New Jersey Police Traffic Officers Association state meeting, which was held in Atlantic City.

The Traffic Safety Specialist program was regionally established in Maryland to recognize police officers who have notable experience, education, training and proficiency in highway safety enforcement methods and procedures.

Eligibility involves officers submitting documentation on employment, completion of appropriate certifications and permission of the department. Level One requirements include three years of independent patrol experience, speed detection device certification, standard field sobriety certification and 30 points of earned electives. One elective point is awarded for each year of military service. Also, points are provided for documented college experience.

This voluntary program was first established in 2016 through the Ocean County Police Traffic Officers Association. The certification serves as verification for courtroom testimony. Also, a total of 18 undergraduate or six graduate credits are awarded by Fairleigh Dickinson University.

Nearly 150 awards have been granted in New Jersey. Additionally, officers are qualifying for the Level Two designation that involves the implementation of a technical study on improving traffic safety conditions in the sponsoring community.