Incumbent Carlin wins race for mayor, incumbents Cantwell, Kozub and Howell win council

According to unofficial results published by the Burlington County Board of Elections, Democratic incumbent Brian Carlin defeated Republican challenger Licardo Gwira and Independent Zak Kirsch-Dziki

Burlington Township Mayor Brian Carlin will continue in his role after being re-elected on Tuesday.

Incumbent Carlin, the Democratic nominee for mayor, defeated challengers Licardo Gwira, the Republican nominee and Zak Kirsch-Dziki, who ran as an Independent. Carlin earned 74.64 percent of the vote over Gwira’s 24 percent and Kirsch-Dziki’s 1.35 percent.

Incumbent candidates also fared well in the race for Burlington Township Council. Democratic candidates Michael Cantwell, George Kozub and Joyce Howell defeated Republican candidates Nasir Jones and Stephen Riggi. Cantwell earned 26.95 percent of votes, Kozub earned 26.61 percent and Howell earned 26.83 percent. Challengers Jones earned 9.78 percent of votes and Riggi 9.75 percent.

Running uncontested for seats on the Board of Education Velina Marie Riggi earned 33.33 percent of votes, Antoinette Minors-Ferguson earned 34.10 percent and Lisa Hodnett earned 32.08 percent.

All of the results are unofficial and do not include mail-in or provisional ballots. Check back with for more on the 2018 election results later this week.