Washington Township High School marching band to showcase original music during 2018–19 season

Press release from Washington Township School District

Perception will play a powerful role for audience members experiencing the 2018–19 Washington Township High School marching band’s show under the same name. “Perception” features music composed by the SFZ Music Group, LLC and written exclusively for the Minuteman Marching Band and its 78 members.

“The show deals with the idea of one’s perception of reality,” band director Calvin Spencer said. “Rorschach inkblots will play a big role in this year’s production as the band asks the following questions: ‘What do you see?’; ‘What do you think you see?’; ‘Is this your perception or your reality?’ For competitions, the band will be wearing custom-made uniform tops created by G2 Performance.

Among other appearances, the band will be performing in the Bands of America Mid-Atlantic Regional Marching Band Competition, a national competition hosted at The University of Delaware on Oct. 20.

Washington Township High School Marching Band 2018 Fall Schedule

Friday Sept. 7: Home football vs. Kingsway

Friday, Sept. 14: Home football vs. Atlantic City

Saturday Sept. 15: Competition @ Gateway Regional High School

Monday Sept. 17: Performance @ Philadelphia Phillies — Band Night

Saturday Sept. 22: Competition @ Collingswood/Washington Township

Saturday Sept. 29: Competition @Egg Harbor Township High School

Saturday Oct. 6: Competition@ Clearview Regional High School

Friday, Oct. 12: Home football vs. Williamstown

Saturday Oct. 13: Competition @ West Deptford High School

Sunday Oct. 14: Competition @ Deptford Township High School

Saturday Oct. 20: Competition @ University of Delaware -Mid -Atlantic Regional Championship- Bands Of America

Friday Oct. 26: Home football vs. Hammonton

Sunday Oct. 21: Competitions @ Eastern Regional High School — Region 1 Championship — Tournament of Bands

Sunday Nov. 4: Competition @ Hershey Stadium, Hershey, Pa — Atlantic Coast Championships — Tournament of Bands

Philadelphia Flyers Game — To Be Determined

Philadelphia Soul Game — To Be Determined