Police describe distracted driving as activities that divert a driver’s attention away from driving, especially texting.
The Mt. Laurel Police Department will be increasing is enforcement efforts on distracted drivers during the month of April as part of New Jersey’s UDrive. UText. UPay. enforcement campaign.
Police describe distracted driving as any activity that diverts a driver’s attention away from the primary task of driving.
According to police, all distractions endanger driver, passenger and bystander safety and injure nearly a half million people every year.
New Jersey law prohibits texting while driving. The penalties for texting and driving for the first offense include a fine of $200 to $400. The second offense fine increases to $400 to $600. The third (or subsequent) offense includes a fine of $600 to $800, three motor vehicle points on a license and a possible 90-day license suspension. These fines do not include any court costs that may be incurred.
Police ask local drivers to concentrate on the road and arrive to their destination safely, as their life or the lives of others depend on it.