MFS named ‘Best School Delegation’ at HenMUN

Moorestown Friends School was the recipient of several awards at the 2018 University of Delaware Model United Nations Conference.

Moorestown Friends School was named “Best School Delegation” at the 2018 University of Delaware Model United Nations Conference (HenMUN), which took place from March 2 to March 4. Advised by History Department Chair Clark Thomson, a team of 30 Upper School students traveled to Newark, Del. to win the conference and earn nine other individual accolades.

Thomson said 2017 to 2018 was an “amazing Model United Nations year for Moorestown Friends School.

“ The MFS Model UN leadership had a number of goals at the beginning of the year,” Thomson said. “The goal of winning at HenMUN was one, albeit tethered more to hope. As we drove through the snow to Newark, [Co-President] Anna Goula addressed our delegation. She did not speak of winning, only of making an effort worthy of all the hard work the delegates have made all year. I noticed the collective nodding. I smiled.”

MFS received the following awards:

  • Best School Delegation:
    Moorestown Friends School
  • Disarmament and International Security Committee (DISEC):
    Honorable Mention — Vika Kulchyckyj, Class of 2019 (Ukraine)
    Best Delegate — Ian Millstein, Class of 2018 (Brazil)
  • Historical General Assembly (League of Nations):
    Honorable Mention — Andrew Landesman, Class of 2018 (Mexico)
  • Social, Cultural and Humanitarian Committee (SOCHUM):
    Honorable Mention — Dylan Mitnick, Class of 2018 (Ukraine)
  • Social, Political, and Decolonization Committee (SPECPOL):
    Outstanding Delegate — Anna Goula, Class of 2018 (Mexico)
  • Commission on Criminal Justice and Crime Prevention:
    Best Delegate — Mariana Goldlust, Class of 2019 (Brazil)
  • Commission on Science and Technology:
    Outstanding Delegate — Ali Chesnick, Class of 2019 (Brazil)
  • FIFA
    Best Delegate — Micaela Coll, Class of 2019 (Rafael Tinoco of Guatemala)
  • UN Security Council
    Outstanding Delegates — Cameron Stirner, Class of 2019 and Josh Strauss, Class of 2020 (Ukraine)