No changes to the Cherry Hill Board of Education in 2018

At the board’s organization meeting last Wednesday, J. Barry Dickinson was named board president and Eric Goodwin board vice president for a second straight year.

There are no changes to the leadership on the Cherry Hill Board of Education, as 2017 board president J. Barry Dickinson and board vice president Eric Goodwin will retain their positions for 2018.

The board held its organization meeting last Wednesday night. Incumbents Goodwin, Carol Matlack and Lisa Saidel were sworn into new, three-year terms. All three board members were re-elected last November. They defeated challengers Fredrick Dande and Sally Tong.

Dickinson was chosen as the board’s 2018 president by a vote of 8–1. Board member Edward Wang was the only person to vote against Dickinson for president. Prior to the vote, Wang nominated Goodwin for board president. However, Wang’s nomination did not go to a vote as no other board member seconded his nomination. Goodwin was the board member who originally nominated Dickinson for president, with board member Kathy Judge seconding the nomination.

The vote for vice president was unanimous, as Goodwin was the only board member nominated for the position.

As president, Dickinson also chose district representatives for three committees. Matlack was named the representative for the Camden County School Boards’ Association. Board member Jane Scarpellino was selected as the representative to the New Jersey School Boards’ Association. Judge was named representative to the Camden County Educational Service Commission. All three appointments run until the board’s organization meeting in 2019.