Redevelopment and recognition the talk at Burlington Township Council meeting

Council discussed incentivizing redevelopers and awarded local sports teams certificates of recognition at Tuesday’s meeting.

At Burlington Township Council’s meeting on Tuesday, April 25, the main topic was redevelopment.

“There’s several areas in the township that are up for redevelopment ordinances,” Township Administrator Walter Corter said

Corter said the township is dealing with properties that are old, contaminated and need to be torn down. As such, the township’s redevelopment approval process has been designed to protect not only business owners but the town, he said.

“There are things we can do for them to help them with process,” Corter said, citing five-year tax abatements as an incentive to redevelopers.

At last Tuesday’s meeting, council passed an ordinance entitled “DCT/McCollister’s Tract Redevelopment Plan,” which Corter said is representative of the changes taking place in Burlington Township. The ordinance allows for a warehouse to be built on Block 147.

In other news:

• Burlington Township’s youth wrestling team was recognized for competing in the Grapevine Wrestling League, which consists of 25 teams across Southern and Central New Jersey. Out of the township’s 32 youth wrestlers, five qualified for Grapevine Wrestling League’s “Best of the Best” tournament, which is the league’s premier end-of-the-season tournament.

Of the five, seventh grader Ethan Wisnewski took first place in the 96-pound junior division, and eighth grader Kevin Arline took first place in the 126-pound intermediate division. Fifth grader Anthony Cook took third place in the 70-pound junior division, and sixth grader Cole Cook took fourth place in the 91-pound junior division. Fourth grader Logan Kahrs withdrew from the 73-pound midget division due to injury.

All the “Best of the Best” qualifiers were commended with certificates of recognition by council.

• Council also recognized the fourth-grade boys South Jersey Basketball Travel Team for winning the league championship. Council thanked the boys for bringing pride to their community, school and families. Players Sean Hefferman, Tatum Hayes, Caleb Lundy, Luis Gaddy, Elijah Satchel, Irving Singletary, Baron Davis, Isaiah N’Diaye and William Felder received a certificate of recognition for their win. Coaches William Felder and Adrian Davis were also recognized.