Moorestown Honors Entrepreneurship students receive various awards

Moorestown High School business and entrepreneurship teacher Adam Roth announced the recent awards.

Moorestown High School business and entrepreneurship teacher Adam Roth announced the recent awards MHS students received in a variety of local and national competitions. Students enrolled in the Honors Entrepreneurship program submitted a total of 18 business plans to several competitions this year and many of them placed in award categories. The results are as follows:

The Network For Teaching Entrepreneurship’s “Make Your Job Challenge” is a National Entrepreneurship Idea Challenge for high school students in grades 9–12 sponsored by the Citi Foundation. This is the first year that Moorestown students entered this competition. There were a total of 4 winners from the Philadelphia region and three were from MHS. Aakash Pillai received second place and Sophia Ambramson and Ibraheem Bhutta both received honorable mentions.

Rowan College at Burlington County’s 3rd Annual Startup Stars Competition, presented by the RCBC Foundation and TD Bank, is a business plan competition open to all Burlington County HS students, RCBC Students and RCBC Alumni. Moorestown has had students compete for the past two years in the challenge, having won the grand prize in 2015 and 1st and 2nd place in 2016. This year, the competition recognized 14 total plans among all entry groups.

Two MHS teams have been selected as finalists and will present a “Shark Tank” style presentation to a live audience and judges on April 6 for a chance to win seed money, up to $1000, for their concepts. Aakash Pillai, Paul Vosbikian, Jackson Alt, Try Meagher, William Wwang, Conner Dickerson, Giuliana Trinchieri and Naquia Unwala are finalists and Aditya Pillai, Kevin Carlyle and Rishab Ayyappah are honorable mentions.

Fairleigh Dickinson University’s Rothman Institute of Innovation and Entrepreneurship’s 2017 New Jersey Business Idea Challenge, sponsored by TD Charitable Foundation, the NJ Devils and the NJ Tech Council received 552 submissions from 682 students from across the state. The university choose 36 business ideas as finalists who will compete for prizes and scholarships on April 7. Finalists this year from Mooretown are Clair Bach, Tamilin Unruh, Alexandra Haydinger, John Hernick, Aakash Pillai, Paul Vosbikian, Jackson Alt and Try Meagher.

The STEAM Tank Challenge, created and sponsored by The New Jersey School Board Association (NJSBA) and the U.S. Army, encourages students in the areas of STEAM — science, technology, engineering, the arts and math. The highly successful program, launched last year, pits student teams in a contest modeled after the “Shark Tank” television show. Teams create innovative projects and present their inventions before a judging panel of entrepreneurs, business leaders and inventors. Students from all over the state submitted business concepts and 12 concepts were chosen from each region of the state.

Of the 12 concepts selected to compete at the South Regional 9–12 competition, seven were from MHS. The regional competition will be held on May 5. Selected winners from each region will then compete on the state level as finalists in October of next school year. Semi-finalists from Moorestown are Sophia Abramson, Aakash Pillai, William Wang, Conner Dickerson, Nicholas Weller, Giuliana Trinchieri, Naquia Unwala, Aditya Pillai, Kevin Carlyle, Sean Carlyle, Rishab Ayyappath, Abigail Wilson, Amber Coleman, Arina Chernova, Mekah Kalsi, Ibraheem Bhutta, Dzifa Amexo, Brandon Alpert, Chaahat Bindra and Brian Baines.

On Dec. 20, students in FBLA competed in competitive testing events in the South Jersey Region. Seven students scored high enough to compete on the state level in the following areas: Introduction to Parliamentary Procedure, Computer Applications, Business Law, Advertising, Entrepreneurship, Global Business, Introduction to Financial Math, Marketing, Business Calculations, Introduction to Business and Sports and Entertainment Marketing. William Wang placed 1st in the state and is now eligible to compete on the national level in June in Anaheim, California.