Lenape High School students among those in district named National Merit Finalists

Students include Saransh Chopra, Lyle James and Megan Quimby originally selected as semifinalists before being selected as a finalists.

Saransh Chopra, Lyle James and Megan Quimby of Lenape High School.

The Lenape Regional High School District has announced that five of its senior students advanced from National Merit Semifinalists to Finalists as part of the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program.

Joshua D. Chadwick (Cherokee High School), Kevin Woytowich (Seneca High School) and Saransh Chopra, Lyle James and Megan Quimby (Lenape High School) were originally selected as semifinalists from a nationwide pool of approximately 1.6 million students from more than 22,000 high schools.

To be considered as a finalist, these students needed to be endorsed and recommended by an official from their high school and were required to submit a detailed application, in which they provided information about participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received.

The National Merit Scholarship Program expected about 15,000 students to advance to the finalist level, which represents less than 1 percent of U.S. high school seniors.

The finalists will now compete for 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth about $33 million. The winners are expected to be announced in news releases beginning in April and concluding in July.