Don’t forget to vote: Shamong November 2016 election information


Election Day is Tuesday, Nov. 8.

Residents of Shamong will be able to vote for the township committee and the local school board, in addition to voting for other representatives and the president of the United States.

The Shamong Township Committee race is contested with incumbents Mayor Timothy L. Gimbel (R) and Deputy Mayor Michael DiCroce (R) and challengers Jeannette Amodeo (D) and Robert Rinaldi (D) running for two open seats. The individuals elected will serve a three-year term on committee.

Shamong Township schools will have an uncontested Board of Education election with Jeffrey S. Warner and Jeffrey Siedlecki running for the two open seats.

Polls are open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Below is a full list of polling districts:

• Districts 1, 3: Shamong Township municipal building, 105 Willow Grove Road.

• Districts 2, 4: Lenape Regional High School District headquarters, 93 Willow Grove Road.

In the race for Burlington County Board of Chosen Freeholders are incumbent Latham “Robert” Tiver (R) and Reva Foster (D) for one open seat. Running for county sheriff are incumbent Jean Stanfield (R) and James H. Kostoplis (D). Running for county surrogate are Freeholder Mary Ann O’Brien (R) and challenger Sander Friedman (D).

In the race for the 3rd Congressional District of the House of Representatives is incumbent Tom MacArthur (R), along with Frederick John LaVergne (D) and Lawrence W. Berlinski, Jr. of the Constitution Party for one open seat.

There are two statewide referendum questions:

Do you approve amending the constitution to permit casino gambling in two additional counties in this state?

Do you approve amending the constitution to dedicate all revenue from the state motor fuels tax and petroleum products gross receipts tax to the Transportation Trust Fund?