HomeMt Laurel NewsSouthern Burlington County NAACP announces 2013 award honorees

Southern Burlington County NAACP announces 2013 award honorees

Southern Burlington County NAACP announces 2013 award honorees

The Southern Burlington County NAACP announced its 2013 award honorees recently. Honorees are nominated by branch members, voted on and confirmed by the branch’s Executive Committee.

This year’s awards and honorees are:

- Advertisement -

• Professional Achievement Award: John Harmon — president & CEO, African-American Chamber of Commerce of New Jersey

• Public Service Award: Barry Lefkowitz — president, MGR, Inc.

• Major Gerald Lewis, Jr. Community Service Award: Ciji Carr, Javon Cooper, John Grear

• Humanitarian Award: Gabe Guerrieri — Ffunder, Genesis Counseling Centers

• Nelson B. Rivers, III Membership Excellence Award: Cynthia Davis, Demetra Evans, Rick Gray, Viola Scott

• Special Civil Rights Award: Burlington County (Joseph Donnelly and Paul Drayton)

Southern Burlington County NAACP Partnership Award: Imani Realty, Carroll Engineering, Law Offices of Riley & Riley, Burlington County Republicans, Zane’y Couture Boutique, South Jersey N.O.W. — Alice Paul Chapter
The theme for this year’s event is “Leadership by Design — Ensuring our Legacy.” The keynote speaker is Dr. Gloria Browne-Marshall, a professor of constitutional law, civil rights attorney, author of the first annual report on the status of African-American women and girls, the first African-American woman journalist cover the U.S. Supreme Court and founder of the Law & Policy Group, a community think tank on law, politics and people. The awards gala will take place at The Merion, 1301 Route 130 South, Cinnaminson, on Nov. 1. The evening begins with a reception at 6:30 p.m. The awards ceremony begins at 7:30 p.m. Tickets may be purchased at www.sbcnaacp.eventbrite.com or by calling (609) 254–1161.


Stay Connected

- Advertisment -

Current Issue