Fire election tomorrow


The following results are unofficial. Two candidates ran for one open seat on the fire commission.

John Cornue was elected to serve a three-year term on the fire commission with 509 votes. Douglas Jones received 308 votes.

The 2013 Mt. Laurel Fire District budget was also passed with 655 votes.

On Saturday, Feb. 16, residents of Fire District №1, will get the chance to vote for one fire commissioner to serve a three-year term on the board of fire commissioners. Candidates John Cornue and Douglas Jones will be on the ballot along with the fire district’s budget. Residents will also get the chance to vote on the budget proposing approximately $8.3 million to be raised by taxation to support the 2013 total budget expenses of $10.3 million.

In 2012, each resident paid 24. 2 cents per $100 assessed value to the fire department. The rate is unchanged, according to Mt. Laurel Fire Department Administrator Scott Jones.

Approximately $57,000 was set aside in the 2013 budget for the purchase of two command SUV vehicles that will replace two existing vehicles, according to the fire district’s budget.

The polling location for residents in district 2, 4, 5, 12, 14, 18, 19, 24, 25 and 26 will vote at the Masonville Fire Station located at 105 Masonville Road. Residents in district 3, 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10 will vote at the Fellowship Fire Station located at 3824 Church Road. Residents from districts 1, 11, 13, 15, 16, 17, 20, 21, 22, 23 and 27 will vote at the Headquarters Fire Station located at 69 Elbo Lane.

The Sun will post the unofficial results when received.