Fire district election results


The following results are unofficial.

Vaughn Vandegrift was elected to serve a three-year term on the fire commission, and the 2013 budget was approved.

Vandegrift — 448 votes

Gerard Slack — 441 votes

Budget — Yes (479 votes); No (337 votes)

On Saturday, Feb. 16, Voorhees residents will get the chance to cast their vote for a fire commissioner. Residents will also get the chance to vote on the Voorhees Fire District’s budget. Last year, the budget covered 4.7 percent of resident’s tax bill, Mayor Michael Mignogna said in an announcement.

Two candidates, Vaughn C. Vandegrift and Gerard J. Slack, are running for a three-year term.

Vandegrift, a long standing resident of Voorhees, is a retired Voorhees firefighter with 37 plus years of experience. Vandegrift has also spent time on various township committees and boards.

Slack, also a long-standing resident of Voorhees, is a retired lieutenant of the Voorhees Police Department and a former commissioner of the Voorhees Fire District.

Polling locations for the election are Ashland Presbyterian Church, located at 33 East Evesham Avenue; Kirkwood Fire Station, located at Burnt Mill Road and Spruce Avenue; and the Kresson Fire Station, located at 423 Cooper Road.
Polls will be open from 2 to 9 p.m.

Residents from district 1, 4 and 12 will vote at Ashland Presbyterian Church; from districts 2,5 and 18 will vote at the Kirkwood Fire Station; and residents from district 3, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 and 19 will vote at Kresson Fire Station.

Kirkwood 2, 5 and 18.

For more information call the Voorhees Fire District at 783–6630, ext. 0.

The Sun will have the unofficial results posted after the polls are closed.