Two Voorhees residents to receive Freedom Medal

The Freedom Medal is awarded to citizens of Camden County for contributing to the betterment of their community through their unselfish dedication of time and talent, beyond their normal professional activities, in the continuation of Martin Luther King Jr.’s dream to create a more just and loving community.

An award ceremony honoring the 2013 recipients will take place at the Camden County Boathouse at Cooper River on Jan. 25, starting at 5:30 p.m.

- Advertisement -

Tickets cost $35 and can be purchased by calling (865) 216–8217.

The 2013 recipients include two Voorhees residents, Roland de Castro and Hannah Oh, nominated by Gwen DeVera and Constance Cotton, respectively.

Other recipients includeSuzanne Cloud of Collingswood; Cherry Hill residents Dr. Alex M. Cueto, Dr. Rommel Rivera, Gaye Pino, Leena M. Lari, Neil Levine and Lewis E. Gorman III; Magnolia residents John R. DiBartolomeo Sr. and Michael Mae Irons; Camden residents Dr. Lauren Hill, Bryan Morton and Dr. Valerie A. Travis; Blackwood residents Lester Owens and Anthony Williams; George V. Guy Jr. of Lindenwold; Judyann McCarthy of Merchantville; William J. Patten of Barrington; Gladys Pritchett of Pennsauken; and Sandra Turner-Barnes of Lawnside.

- Advertisment -