Summer Events in Burlington County

By Katrina Grant

The Burlington County Amphitheater will welcome many new acts this year for its summer concert series. The amphitheater has been hosting concerts and movies for around seven years and can usually draw crowds of 500 to 1,000 people. Some concerts have even seen 1,200.

“Some of the entertainers come to us,” Jo Horton, Program Coordinator said. “ I spend a lot of time on the Internet looking for bands, and I go to listen to them.”

The venue will not be showing movies this year as it has done in the past.

“We actually had two movies last year that went really well,” Horton said. “We didn’t do them this year, but we will probably add them again next year.”

Due to the economic times, the amphitheater has seen its budget cut. However, the Friends of the Burlington County Library Inc. has helped it with budget issues, so that the amphitheater can continue to provide entertainment to residents.

For more information call 267–9660 or visit www.bcls.lib.nj.us.

July Concert Schedule

Friday, July 1 — Hollywood Nights: This New Jersey band recreates the music of Bob Seger. (BCIT)

Friday, July 8 — Parrot beach: This Jimmy Buffet tribute band performs the best of Buffet and Island music. www.parrotbeach.com. (BCIT)

Saturday, July 9 — Songwriters in the Round: Enjoy an evening of entertainment featuring: Lisa Bouchelle www.octoberbaby.com; Bob Burger www.bobburger.com; Jason Liberatore www.jasonliberatore.com; Gregg Cagno www.greggcagno.com; and Joe Vadala. (BCIT)

Friday, July 15 — Danny V’s 52nd Street Band: Billy Joel tribute band www .52ndstreetband.com.

Saturday, July 16 — Sounds of Society: Chicago tribute band. (BCIT)

Friday, July 22 — The Party Dolls: From Motown to Madonna, the Party Dolls perform a tribute to girl groups and women in rock. www.partydolls.com.

Saturday, July 23 — Beatlemania Again: The National touring Beatles Stage Show. www.beatlemaniaagain.com.

Friday, July 29 — Fabulous Greaseband: This seven-member rock and roll party band performs the best of the 50s, 60s, 70s, 80s and 90s. www.greaseband.com.

Saturday, July 30 — Yellow Brick Road: Elton John tribute band. www .tributetoeltonjohn.com. (BCIT).

August Concert Schedule

Friday, August 5 — The Spook Handy Band: Performing the works of Pete Seeger.www.SpookHandy.com (BCIT).

Saturday, August 6 — Rat Pack Live: Go back to Vegas in the 50s and 60s. Brotherly Love, the Philadelphia Gay Men’s Chorus’ select ensemble of 18 members. www.pgmc.org. (BCIT).

Friday, August 12 — Celtic Music by Charlie Zahm: www.charliezahm.com. (BCIT)

Saturday, August 13 — Joe Vadala: A rock and roll show presented by Mt. Holly musician Joe Vadala who has shared the stage with Bruce Springsteen, John Cafferty’s Beaver Brown Band and the Bodeans. (BCIT).

Friday, August. 19 — Simply the Best featuring Suzette Dorsey: Tina Turner tribute.

Saturday, August 20 — Rising Regina: www .risingregina.com

Friday, August 26 — Scarborough Fair: Simon and Garfunkel tribute.

Saturday, August 27 — Homemade Jamz Blues Band: www .hmjamzbluesband.com.

The amphitheater is located adjacent to the library headquarters on Pioneer Boulevard off Woodlane Road in Westampton.