Fire District Election Feb. 19

The Voorhees Fire District Election will be on Saturday, Feb. 19. Any Voorhees resident who is a registered voter will have an opportunity to cast a ballot.

Two seats on the five-member Board of Fire Commissioners will be decided. Fire commissioners are elected for three-year terms.

This year’s candidates are Robert Caruso, Robert Dougherty, Bruce Karpf and Scott Minghenelli.

The election will also give residents an opportunity to vote on the fire district budget. Last year, this budget comprised 4.6 percent of your tax bill.

The polls will be open from 2 p.m. to 9 p.m.

The three voting locations are Kresson Fire Station at 423 Cooper Road, Kirkwood Fire Station at 2002 South Burnt Mill Road and the Ashland Presbyterian Church at 33 E. Evesham Road.

If you have any questions about your voting location, call 783–6630 ext. 0.

We are fortunate to have one of the finest fire departments in South Jersey. We also appreciate the efforts of our 39 volunteer firefighters, who give their time to support the department.

For more information about the Voorhees Fire District, visit If you are interested in becoming a volunteer, visit

Michael Mignogna is the mayor of Voorhees. He can be reached at